Kylie Cosmetics Mary Jo K Lip Kit Review

Looking for that classic red lip? Want it to last all day, all night, through meals and activities? Well, Kylie Cosmetics has the perfect combination that will stay with you throughout your entire day.

I first got the Mary Jo K lip kit for Christmas my junior year of college and I have to say…it has definitely lived up to the hype. At first, $29 for a lip pencil and matte liquid lipstick sounds a bit pricey, but for what you get, it is definitely worth the investment. 

The lip pencil is super easy to glide onto your lips, giving your lips a clean border. As someone with thin lips, I highly appreciate the easy to sharpen and long lasting lip pencil because it gives my lips an easy outline to follow without getting lipstick all over my face. The best part is that it doesn’t bleed- so you don’t have to worry about looking like a vampire two hours after applying.

The matte liquid lipstick is….just absolutely phenomenal. Not only is it highly pigmented and easy to apply, it doesn’t leave your lips looking dry or cracked. I found that usually red lipstick fades or starts to look messy after a while, but Mary Jo K keeps it’s pigmentation and stays in place all day long. Plus, it smells good and doesn’t have that chemically smell lipsticks usually have.

The instructions suggest using the lip pencil first and then going over your lips with the liquid lipstick. I found that this tends to keep the lipstick in place longer and the lip pencil used on your lips acts as a sort of primer and moisturizer for the liquid lip. 

I use Mary Jo K for whenever I want that bold classic look, but also a lot for my dance competitions. I need a lipstick that will last through hours of stretching, drills, actual competing, drinking water, eating, and all day until awards. Not only does Kylie Cosmetics Lip Kit do this for me, but it also doesn’t crack or fade, even when my lips are chapped. Depending on how much time I have to get ready, I either use the lip liner or I don’t, and I found that the color stays all day. I may need to reapply once or twice, but usually I’m good for about 6-12 hours without reapplication. Before I put any lipstick or lipgloss on, I always prime my lips with the Lip Primer from Anastasia Beverly Hills, which creates a moisturized and evened surface on my thin and usually chapped lips. 

The only negative I have about Mary Jo K is removal. I know that sounds weird, but hear me out. Everybody loves a good lip that can last the end of the world, but removing it at the end of the day can be the biggest pain in the butt. I found that if I use Tarte Micellar Magic Makeup Remover and Cleanser, then Farmacy’s Green Clean Makeup Removing Cleansing Balm, I can usually get it all off. The frustration usually kicks in when I’m scrubbing it off and it gets all over my face, making me look like a vampire who just finished a hearty five course meal. Tarte’s Frxxxtion Stick is my next step and that not only clears away the lipstick, but also leaves my pores and area around my mouth smooth and clean. The best thing, I found, to use after any matte lippie, is Jeffree Star’s Velour Lip Scrub and then Chapstick, just to make sure that any and all lipstick is cleaned from my lips. By doing this, my lips are smooth, clean, moisturized, and ready for the next day. 

Overall, I cannot recommend Kylie Cosmetics Mary Jo K Lip Kit enough for that classic bold red lip. The clean application, long lasting wear, sweet smell, high pigmentation, and easy application makes the difficult removal of the lipstick worthwhile. If you want that lip that will stay perfect all day, then this is something you have to have in your makeup collection. 

I used Mary Jo K for my 2019 Halloween costume, and it lasted through the entire Halloween party.
Mary Jo K lasted my entire dance competition on a sunny and hot beach.

Leave a comment